Author Topic: Cooling system questions  (Read 1317 times)

westmorland

• View Profile
Cooling system questions
« on: August 16, 2018, 11:25:01 AM »
I'm really new to doing work on a car by myself, so I've been digging through the forum, manuals on Circle KF, etc.  I know this topic has been discussed a few times, but there were a few things I haven't been able to find the answers to. 

So, it looks like the engine on my 53 Manhattan is definitely running hot.  I took her out for a drive the other day.  It was 85 degrees with a nice breeze.  I drove about 5 miles, stopped for about 20 minutes to grab some lunch, then drove back home.   As I was getting home (maybe about 1/2 mile from home) I saw the temp gauge was getting close to the red.  When I got in the driveway, I pulled out my infrared thermometer and took readings all around the radiator and engine block.  I got readings from between 205 and 210 all over the block and radiator.

I did a cooling system flush (just water for the moment) and noticed when I pulled off the elbow on top of the engine for the return to the radiator that the retaining ring for the thermostat was missing.   I've gotten a new thermostat, gasket and retaining ring, but I can't find anything about the torque required for the two bolts that hold it onto the engine.   Does anyone know what that should be?   

I've also seen for newer cars the recommendation to use RTV sealant when putting the elbow back on, but I don't think that was done whenever the thermostat was previously replaced.  Is that something I should do, or is it not recommended for our older engines?

In reading about doing a flush on the forum I've seen mention of removing the rear freeze plugs as well as mention of a drain valve on the engine for the cooling system.  I haven't been able to find a diagram that shows me where those parts are though.  Could someone maybe post a picture of them so I can locate them?