Author Topic: interior paint  (Read 2591 times)

PK5321

• View Profile
    • Email
interior paint
« on: August 25, 2011, 01:34:38 PM »
I'm a newbie, with a just purchased 53 Kaiser Manhattan.  The IP code is 37, which I understand is Jade Green Metallic.  The paint code for the vehicle is 442, which is Jade Green Metallic over Stardust Ivory. (the car is presently all green metallic, but lighter green than the original Jade Green.) Trim code is 5303. What colour should the inside of the trunk and hood be?  Were they painted the IP colour or the body colour?  What all was painted with the IP?
1953 Kaiser Manhattan

joefrazer

• View Profile
Re: interior paint
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2011, 02:48:11 PM »
The inside of the trunk and hood should be the lower body color. The dash and inner door frames (the removable frames around the windows) should be the interior paint color.

kaiserfrazerlibrary

• KFOCI Historian
    • AOL Instant Messenger - none
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - none
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2011, 05:10:58 PM »
I agree on trunk floor paint but the UNDERSIDE of the hood;  what factory info do you have on this or are you going based on restored cars?  I have never noted anything that suggests the underside of the hood was painted same color as outside.

Fid

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2011, 07:57:56 PM »
He said "inside" the hood (I didn't see "underside.")  I take that to mean the cowl (firewall), exposed parts of the fenders where there would be paint.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2011, 08:03:14 PM by Fid »
1953 Henry J Corsair Deluxe
Edgar Kaiser's custom 1951 Henry J
1951 Kaiser Special
1952 Allstate Deluxe

Need your classic car radio repaired? I repair vacuum tube radios

jsgmpeek

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2011, 09:47:57 PM »
Under the hood was filled with a fiber glass insulation that usually deteriorated after a few miles.

joefrazer

• View Profile