Author Topic: Anybody Doing Restorations  (Read 5874 times)

Roadmaster49

• View Profile
    • Email
Anybody Doing Restorations
« on: June 14, 2016, 08:11:38 AM »
I know the forum community is only a small segment, but is anybody doing restorations any more? 

No old cars owned.

Doc

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Anybody Doing Restorations
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2016, 08:54:29 AM »
Not here. Those two '51 Frazer hardtops did it for me. Those came after a '55 Studebaker that took five years. Too much frustration and aggravation trying to find parts, find people that will actually work on them (upholstery for example and body work), and the escalating price of rechrome and even "basics" like fuel pumps and carburetors.
'54 Manhattan
'54 Late Special
'51 Frazer sedan

kaiserkid

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2016, 10:12:23 AM »
I've been working on my 54K for 6 years now in my garage. I can see some light at the end of the tunnel! Yes locating parts has been a challenge at times but overall not too bad. This is my first restoration by myself.

54manhattan13

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2016, 10:44:23 AM »
As I noted in my previous post, I have been working at restoring my 54 Manhattan for he last 3 1/2 years. It has benn slow but I am hoping to take it to our local community car show on July 1st.
Mine is a work in progress and probably will never be totally restored. It is not being restored as a show car, rather a pleasant car to use for my own enjoyment.
Paint is not original, and upholstry is not totally done as original. The upholstry is close to original but not 100%.
The hardest thing for me was to find a local shop to do the paint job. This problem revolved around the fact hat the car had rust above the windshield and the rear window. This meant that he glass had to come out and most shops wouldn't even attempt this.