Author Topic: NEWBEE Question :Electric wiper conversion  (Read 3464 times)

MaiKai

• View Profile
    • Email
NEWBEE Question :Electric wiper conversion
« on: October 07, 2010, 03:33:21 PM »
Greetings one and all! I am a newbie to K/F cars, but have a few old cars in my stable already. I picked up a 51 Kaiser Special in January, and the wiring was shot! Supposedly it's an original 34,000 mile car (4 door, manual w/overdrive). That sat outside from 1969 to now. I cant find any rust on the car and it is 100% complete, except for the drivers side exterior door handle, and the weatherstrip left a couple decades ago.

I am sure that somewhere on this huge forum is the answer I need, but I tried to search and found nothing. My dad has the car in Oklahoma right now converting it to 12 volt with an aftermarket wiring kit. (It is a long distance father/ son/ grandson project!) However, I'd like to keep it as stock as possible.

My question is, (I actually have many, but this is the big one right now), Does anyone know if the New Port Engineering wiper kit for the Henry J will fit a 51 "Special"?. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I plan to keep this car forever, but it has to be functional, and I do not want to run the vacuum wipers. I drive all my cars when I can. This little car has really got me hooked. The way these cars were put together is pretty impressive. My wife owns an upholstery shop and we were really blown away at the build quality. Even the headliner bows are mounted in rubber!

The engine runs great and doesn't smoke or knock , but I do need a new fuel pump, and a 12 V solenoid for the side of the BW O/D.

Thank you in advance for helping answer this question, and furthering our "cause"...I would really appreciate any responses.

joefrazer

• View Profile
Re: NEWBEE Question :Electric wiper conversion
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2010, 04:48:50 PM »