Author Topic: 53 manhattan coil wiring question  (Read 2341 times)

mow4alivn

• View Profile
    • Email
53 manhattan coil wiring question
« on: October 17, 2009, 12:05:46 AM »
I'm a newbie to this forum and to kaisers themselves. I bought a 53 manhattan had been sitting in a barn for 20+ years. It still has the 6 volt positive ground system. Going to try and start it this weekend but I have a question before I do. I'm use to chevys one wire to positive side of coil and one wire to negative that goes to distibutor. Now with my Kaiser I have two wires coming from wiring harness going to positive side and one wire from wiring harness to the negative side along with the wire that goes to the distibutor.
Can anyone tell me what the extra wires are? Any help would be greatly appreciated

ben-tex

• View Profile
    • KF NUT
Re: 53 manhattan coil wiring question
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2009, 09:22:45 AM »
I am guessing your car has overdrive which would account for 2 extra wires. If it does there should be 2 wires from the neg post--one to the ignition switch and the other to the ignition connection on the OD relay (mounted on firewall) AND 2 wires from the pos post--one to the distributor and one to the kickdown switch.
Life Member
Quarterly Editor 1985-2001
Developed first official club website
1951 Kaiser Deluxe
1951 Frazer Vagabond
2008 Pacemaker :)

mow4alivn

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2009, 11:53:23 AM »
Ok, Yes it does have overdrive so that would explain the extra wires. Now I juist need to do some research on the overdrive and how it works.

Thanks so much.

Fid

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2009, 06:10:31 PM »