Author Topic: 51 Kaiser Wipers...electric or vacuum?  (Read 894 times)

konrad

• View Profile
    • Email
51 Kaiser Wipers...electric or vacuum?
« on: April 03, 2020, 09:15:45 PM »
How do I tell whether I have electric of vacuum wipers on my car?  I know both versions were installed on 51's within the production period.  I would estimate (based on vin) that my car was produced about 75% of the way through the 51 production run.

They don't currently work, and I have no real experience with troubleshooting either.

My first point of attack will of course be the wiper switch, assuring it is getting power and the contacts work, but thence?  If they're vacuum of course I'll need to track down vacuum leaks 1st, but if they're electric and the switch is good, then what do I look at?
« Last Edit: April 03, 2020, 09:18:26 PM by konrad »
51 Kaiser Deluxe

joefrazer

• View Profile
Re: 51 Kaiser Wipers...electric or vacuum?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2020, 10:23:22 PM »
Are there wires running to the wiper switch?  If so, the car has electric wipers. Vacuum units use a mechanical switch.

rrdcorvair

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2020, 11:56:31 PM »
A 51 Deluxe (wide stainless) should have had electric, a 51 Special (narrow or no stainless) should have vacuum.  Electric wiper cars have a single pump fuel pump but vacuum wipers require a double style fuel pump.  Lower pump is fuel, upper pump is vacuum pump.  Plus a rubber vacuum line enters the firewall near the heater box on firewall.

Fid

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2020, 10:21:15 AM »
A 51 Deluxe (wide stainless) should have had electric, a 51 Special (narrow or no stainless) should have vacuum.

Actually, according to the club handbook and other KF literature, "Kaiser Deluxe automobiles built through August 1950 had vacuum wipers rather than electric types."