Author Topic: 1952 Kaiser Manhattan Slips out of First-gear  (Read 2577 times)

wilhelm

• View Profile
1952 Kaiser Manhattan Slips out of First-gear
« on: June 25, 2015, 04:52:57 PM »
The subject line pretty well states my problem.  I am new to Kaisers, never even seen one in person until this one was delivered a few weeks ago.  I love the look, the design; it's a beautiful car!  So, I am totally naive when it comes to the workings of a Kaiser.

I can put it into first-gear most of the time, but it seems like the shift lever should go down another inch or two.  Instead, it runs into the steel housing on the column and doesn't seem to lock into gear securely.  The second picture shows this.  About half the time, it jumps out of gear before I can shift to second.

In the first picture, is that the correct position for reverse?

Any help would be more than appreciated.  I'm a vacuum when it comes to Kaiser cars.  I just want to get this great car on the road and feel confident with it.  Thank you!
1952 Kaiser Manhattan
1947 Studebaker Champion
1952 Studebaker 2R-5 Pickup
1955 DeSoto Firedome
1955 DeSoto Firedome Sportsman 2-dr ht

Fid

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: 1952 Kaiser Manhattan Slips out of First-gear
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2015, 07:45:41 PM »
It appears the sleeve or sheath around the steering column has turned which would then get in the way and not allow the lever to all the way down so the trans goes into first gear (quite evident in the second picture). I'm not familiar with the later Kaisers but I know my Henry J had a similar problem and there were two bolts loose. The two that fasten the gear "box" to the steering sector. Someone with more Kaiser knowledge should post a follow up but from the picture, it sure appears that housing around the column is turned up a bit.
1953 Henry J Corsair Deluxe
Edgar Kaiser's custom 1951 Henry J
1951 Kaiser Special
1952 Allstate Deluxe

Need your classic car radio repaired? I repair vacuum tube radios

wilhelm