Author Topic: Overdrive Question  (Read 3842 times)

51FrazerManhattan

• View Profile
    • Email
Overdrive Question
« on: May 17, 2012, 09:58:23 PM »
I'm new to KF cars and am a bit confused about how to use the overdrive on my car.  I heard that I should only move the overdrive shifter when I am stopped, but guys who remember the 50's say they used it as a regular shifter on their Fords that had overdrive.  What is the proper way to use it?  I've been leaving it in all the time, and the car just shifts into overdrive on its own and shifts out when I stomp on the accelerator, but I would like to make sure I'm using it the correct way.  This question seems so basic that I'm almost embarrassed to ask, but I don't want to tear it up or something. 

Thank you.

dpledger

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Overdrive Question
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2012, 10:31:30 PM »
According to the 51 Kaiser owner's manual, the handle to put it in or out of overdrive should be moved one way or the other only when the car is stopped. It can be left either way and will function accordingly. If the handle is in, it will automatically engage overdrive at speeds over 30mph, and disengage when speed drops below 24. One can disengage when more power is required by stomping the pedal to the floor.  So it appears that you are operating correctly. Wouldn't try moving the handle with the car in motion under any circums.

StillOutThere

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2012, 07:39:52 AM »